2017 Ted Freedman Award for Innovation in Education

Longwoods Publishing, in cooperation with the Canadian Association for Health Services and Policy Research (CAHSPR), invites you to submit your ‘Innovation in Education’ program that advocates and enables education in health, health services or health management at a healthcare organization.

 We would like to honour and recognize your outstanding contribution at CAHSPR 2017

Click here for the Submission Guidlines. Deadline for submissions is March 31, 2017.


The 2016 Ted Freedman Award was awarded to ICES, HQO, and iHPME. In recognition of: Quality Improvement (QI) at the Frontline:  Improving and Driving Excellence Across Sectors (IDEAS). The award was presented at CAHSPR 2016 in Toronto and accepted by Vivian Ng, Ximena Camacho and Jennie Pickard. Click here to download the submission. 

An Honourable Mention goes to Silvia Lizett Olivares Olivares, Mildred Vanessa López Cabrera, Martha Ruth Loyola Segura, and Jorge Eugenio Valdez García at the School of Medicine at Tecnólogico de Monterrey. In recognition of: Competency-based Faculty Development Program for Clinical Educators. Click here to download the submission.


In 2000 the Ted Freedman Award for Innovation in Education was created.
Ted Freedman was the surprised honoree of an annual award launched by Healthcare Quarterly in cooperation with Agilent Technologies. The award recognizes those people who inspire, advocate and enable education in healthcare. The winners are honoured with a self-portrait in bronze of the artist as a patient recovering from brain surgery by award-winning sculptor Amy Switzer of Barrie, Ontario.

Click here for the history of the Ted Freedman Award and its past winners.