OTTAWA, Sept. 20, 2011 /CNW/ - The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) is proud today to announce the recipients of the 2011 Media Awards for Health Reporting, Canada's premier health journalism awards.

"We saw this year outstanding coverage of strong, emotional topics and complex systemic and clinical health issues. These recipients have made an important contribution to the advancement of health policy in Canada and to Canadians' understanding of health care issues," said Dr. John Haggie, CMA president. "Congratulations to the winners, who truly represent the best in an exceptional year of coverage. Our thanks, as well, to the judges, who made their difficult decisions with integrity and a critical eye for quality."

The CMA Media Awards honour outstanding Canadian journalism that enhances understanding of health, the health care system and the role of health professionals. Independent panels of individuals with backgrounds in journalism, medicine and health care evaluate the entries. This year, they selected winners in eight categories from among close to 100 submissions. Entries were evaluated based on fairness and balance, timeliness, insight, impact, and quality of writing and production.

The 2011 Media Award for Health Reporting recipients are:

Category Award Recipient(s) Media Outlet Title of article/story
The Michelle Lang Award for
Excellence in Print Reporting/
In-depth feature article
Carly Weeks The Globe and Mail How to Save Health Care
Excellence in Print Reporting/
In-depth feature series

Special Mention
André Picard, Erin Anderssen,
Carolyn Abraham, Anne
McIlroy, Grant Robertson, Tara
Perkins, Elizabeth Renzetti,
Peter Power, David Woodside,
Jerry Johnson, Christina
Vardanis, Paul Taylor and
Amberly McAteer

Cathy Gulli
The Globe and Mail

Dementia:  Confronting
the Crisis

Excellence in Print Reporting/
Lisa Priest and Karen Howlett The Globe and Mail The Too Small Tumour
Excellence in Radio Reporting/

Special Mention
Dr. Brian Goldman, Kent
Hoffman and Jean Kim

Anna Maria Tremonti, Mary
Lynk, Bob Murphy and Pam
CBC Radio/
White Coat, Black Art

CBC Radio/
The Current
Will to Die

Losing Jenna:  A Mother's Story
Excellence in Television
Diana Swain, Timothy Sawa,
Nicholas Stein and Angela
CBC News/
The National
Tobacco Labelling
Excellence in Television

Special Mention
Hana Gartner, Marie Caloz,
Lynette Fortune and Tanya

Beatrice Politi and Hannah
the fifth estate

Global News/ 16:9-
The Bigger Picture
Behind the Wall

Energy Drinks Update
Excellence in
Local Print Reporting
Angela Hill Prince Albert Daily
Is There a Doctor in the
Excellence in
Local Broadcast Reporting
Dian Duthie, Karla Hilton and
Jeff Semple
CBC Ottawa Out of the Darkness

The CMA Media Awards winners will be honoured at a gala celebration on

October 20, 2011

at the Château Laurier in


. Tickets may be purchased online at

For further information:
Lucie Boileau
Canadian Medical Association
Tel: 613-731-8610 ext. 1266
Cell: 613-447-0866