Longwoods Blog

Companion of the Order of Canada

  • Janet Rossant for advancing the global understanding of embryo development and stem cell biology, and for her national and international leadership in health science.

Officer of the Order of Canada

  • Sandra Black for contributing to improved diagnosis and treatment of vascular dementia, Alzheimer’s disease and stroke.
  • Kenneth Denton Craig for providing a new model for the assessment of pain as a global leader in the field of pain research.
  • Daniel J. Drucker for his contributions to the development of medicines used around the world to treat diabetes and intestinal disorders.
  • Mary Gospodarowicz Evans for contributing to improved cancer radiotherapy and for her leadership in advancing cancer care around the world.
  • Paul D. N. Hébert for his achievements as an evolutionary biologist, notably as a pioneer of DNA barcoding.

Members of the Order of Canada

  • Aubie Angel for his contributions to endocrinology and to the establishment of health organizations in Canada.
  • Pat Capponi for her contributions as an important voice for the homeless and for those living with mental illness.
  • John V. Cross for his achievements as a pioneer in Saskatchewan’s biotechnology industry and for his extensive civic engagement.
  • Jagannath Prasad for his internationally recognized work in the field of cognitive psychology, notably in the development of a new theory of intelligence.
  • Madeleine Dion Stout for contributing to the development of Aboriginal health care in Canada as a nurse, researcher and advocate.
  • Elaine Dobbin for her support of various causes in her province, notably in the areas of health care research and community-based care for individuals living with autism.
  • Kathryn Jane Nightingale Hannah for her efforts to promote the use of information technology to enhance nursing care in Canada and abroad.
  • Stewart Harris for his contributions to the development of strategies to manage and reduce diabetes in Aboriginal communities and other vulnerable populations.
  • Frances Oldham Kelsey for her efforts to protect public health, notably by helping to end the use of thalidomide, and for her contributions to clinical drug trial regulations
  • Jay Keystone for his contributions as a clinician and educator who has expanded the discipline of tropical and travel medicine.
  • Adeera Levin for her leadership in the treatment of kidney disease.
  • Fiona Nelson for a life of volunteer work devoted to the well-being of children, notably in the fields of education and health.
  • Vivian Morris Rakoff for his contributions to psychiatry as an educator and clinician, and for his role in founding the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health.
  • Mohamed Iqbal Ravalia for his contributions to rural medicine in Newfoundland and Labrador as a family physician, mentor and community leader.
  • Hubert Sacy for his leadership in the prevention of alcohol abuse, notably as director general of Éduc’alcool.
  • Barbara Kristina Schmidt for her contributions to advancing the standard of care for critically ill newborns in Canada and abroad.
  • Marla Shapiro for her contributions as a family physician and as a trusted source of health information who communicates both the medical and human impacts of health care concerns.
  • Susan Sherwin for her contributions as a scholar, mentor and leader in the field of feminist bioethics, notably through her writings on discrimination in health care.
  • Carolyn Ruth Wilson for her contributions to improving primary care in Ontario and for her leadership in family medicine.
  • Martin Yaffe for his groundbreaking research in breast cancer screening and for his commitment to improving women’s health.

Other recipients can be found here.

This entry was posted on Monday, July 6th, 2015 at 2:39 pm and is filed under Publisher's Page.